dbtrains.com | about | faq | sitemap |

E 17

After the good experencies with the E 21, the DRG ordered 38 locomotives of the series E 17 with KleinowFedertopf power. The locomotives got a driving motor on each driven axle. The locomotives were built by WASSEG. This company was especially for this purpose established by AEG and SSW. The locomotives were delivered between 1928 and 1929. The locomotives E 17 01 and E 17 18 were meant for Southern Germany and the locomotives E 17 101 up to E 17 120 were meant for Middle Germany and Schlesien. The numbers were only characterising their service, technically the locomotives were identical.

The locomotives E 17 15 up to E 17 18 were renumbered in the thirties to E 17 121 up to E 17 124 and were moved to Schlesien. The running of this locomotives was good, that's why the topspeed was increased in 1934 to 120 km/h. To regulate the driving motors there was an electro magnetic step-by-step regulation with 21 steps. The E 17 which was in service in Middle Germany came in 1933/34 to the Southern part of Germany. After the war 26 locomotives were going to the DB and in 1958 2 locomotives were going to the DR.

Axle layout 1'Do1'
In service: 1928-1929
Diameter driving wheels: 160 cm
Diameter carrying wheels: 100 cm/100 cm
Length: 15,950m
Top speed: 110 km/h
Power: 2800 kW @ 89,0 km/h
Torque: 235kN
Tension: 15 kV ~/16 2/3 Hz
Weight: 111,7 t